Resources for Student Faculty Staff Vistor Events 中文

PROGRAMS OF STUDY

Materials Science and Engineering


The Materials Science and Engineering (hereinafter referred as “MSE”) program was listed as the Key Discipline in 2018 and the First-class Undergraduate Program Development Site in Guangdong Province in 2020. The MSE-led Provincial Key Laboratory of Materials and Technologies for Energy Conversion was approved as one of the Guangdong R&D platforms in 2021 and can provide research, education, and training services for students.

1. Program Positioning

Based on physics, chemistry and engineering, the program aims to let students understand how processing and composition affect the structure, properties and performance of materials, and is a combination of multidisciplinary knowledge and skills.

 

Specialized courses cover crystal structure and microstructure analysis, materials processing, electrochemistry, diffusion and phase transitions, kinetics and thermodynamics, and polymer properties, aiming to produce outstanding engineers and technologists who can integrate and lead materials research and development and its application in high-tech industries such as semiconductor manufacturing and biomaterials. Students will participate in collaborative R&D projects with industry and master advanced research methods in materials science and engineering.

 

Compared with MSE teaching programs in other universities in China, the knowledge structure and content of GTIIT MSE program is more advanced. Examples are: (1) the thrust on advanced courses related to micro and nanoelectronics: "Electronic Material Properties", “Experimental Molecular Electronics” "Conductive Atomic Force Microscopy", and other courses that span the field of microelectronics and nanoelectronics; (2) the profound course content, covering some important points that are usually not included in similar undergraduate courses, but are rather offered in graduate studies.

 

In addition to the excellent and unique teaching program, the MSE department puts a strong emphasis on research. The research activities cover many of utmost importance for Chinese society, and it will empower the industry of China by developing key technologies and building capable professional engineers. MSE has developed cutting edge research in several fields including i) high performance alloys, ii) novel materials for electronics and energy storage, iii) nuclear materials, iv) functional nanomaterials and biomaterials. In addition, MSE provides a broad range of personal and central laboratories for processing and characterization of materials that are equipped with a wide range of advanced equipment, which are supported by experienced global resources from 5 continents.

 

Recently the Provincial Key Lab of Energy Conversion Materials and Technology has been authorized by the Guangdong Province Department of Science and Technology. It provides a platform strengthening the research and collaboration worldwide. MSE professors also actively carry out the 5-year research project “Provincial Major Project of Basic and Applied Research of Future Functional Materials under Extreme Conditions” recently awarded by Guangdong Province Department of Science and Technology.


2. Talent-cultivation Goal

MSE students will participate in R&D projects, many of which are in cooperation with the industry, and master advanced research methods of materials science and engineering. Graduates of the program can be engaged in academic research or get employed in relevant industries. Material engineers may seek employment in industries and development centers of the following applications: electronics and communication; energy generation, conversion and storage; aerospace or vehicle manufacturing; nuclear industry; polymer nanocomposites and plastic materials; and in pharmaceuticals and biomaterials.

 

The graduate of the program gains the following expertise.

·         Master the knowledge of mathematics and natural science, the knowledge of engineering technology, and certain knowledge of economics and management required by the professions in this program field.

·         Systematically master the basic theories and knowledge of the materials science and engineering discipline; understand the basic principles of the relationship between materials’ composition, structure, synthesis/production and properties.

·         Master the basic knowledge and skills of preparation, performance testing and analysis of various materials involved in the discipline.

·         Understand the development status and trends of related disciplines in materials; have a sense of innovation; have basic abilities to improve materials performance and product quality, to develop and study new materials and new crafts, to select and use materials according to engineering projects, etc.

·         Develop the skill of innovation and entrepreneurship.

·         Have a sense of lifelong learning; able to use modern information technology to acquire related information, new technologies, and new knowledge to constantly improve personal abilities.

·         Have a global vision, high-level foreign language proficiency, intercultural communications ability and cooperation ability.


3. Cultivation Scheme

Following the program setting in Technion, MSE - GT students need to complete 160 credits of courses in four years, including compulsory courses (131 credits), elective courses (19 credits), general education courses (10 credits). In addition, 16 credits of moral and political theory courses are requested by the China Ministry of Education. The teaching includes theoretical teaching as well as practical teaching. All courses are taught in English except ideological and political courses and physical education.

 

Upon completing the studies, the students receive two graduation documents – one from the Technion and the other from GTIIT.


4. Course Curriculum

Please refer to Materials Science and Engineering Program Curriculum for details.


5. Faculty Team

The MSE program has been recruiting worldwide teaching staff and young scientists with excellent professional backgrounds in innovation, research, and teaching.

Apart from some Technion teachers, GTIIT MSE has teachers and researchers from the United States, Germany, Australia, Spain, the United Kingdom, Canada, Japan and other countries. Most of the teachers and researchers have worked at world-class universities (such Northwestern University), research institutes (such as the Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory) and R&D departments of famous companies (such as GE). Among the MSE faculty and teachers, there are an awardee of the "Thousand Youth Talents Plan", scholars of the Guangdong "Yangfan Program", and two high-level foreign scholars, etc.

Please visit our directory of academic team for details.


6. Teaching Conditions

The MSE program provided teaching laboratories that are equipped with the world’s leading experimental equipment such as a world-class conductive atomic force microscope or the most advanced electron microscopes. MSE is continuously heavily investing in the equipment of teaching and scientific research with advanced high-level, to help students get involved in scientific research project as early as possible and obtain real scientific research experience. MSE students are required to complete specific experiments in teaching laboratories and advanced research projects under supervision of a faculty member before graduation. The topic selection involves research topics and experience of their supervisors, which meets the needs of society and industry.


Technion Graduate Studies

GTIIT Graduate Studies


CONTACT US

Tel: 86-0754-88077088、88077060

Address: 241 Daxue Road, Jinping District, Shantou, Guangdong Province, China

Postal Code:515063

© GUANGDONG TECHNION-ISRAEL INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY | 粤ICP备17036470号

我是 学生 教职 员工 访客 活动 ENGLISH

专业设置

材料科学与工程


广东以色列理工学院材料科学与工程专业于2017年开始招收本科生。2018年,专业支撑学科“材料科学与工程”被列为广东省高水平大学建设计划重点建设学科。2020年,专业被广东省教育厅评为省级一流本科专业建设点,实现了学校在本科教学方面的突破。2021年,由本专业牵头的能源转换材料与技术重点实验室入选广东省科技厅新一批省重点实验室名单,这也是学校首个获认定的省级科研平台,将能够为学校与专业建设与发展提供科研、教学与训练等服务。


一、专业定位

材料科学与工程专业以物理、化学和工程学为基础,旨在让学生了解加工和构成如何影响材料的结构、性质和性能,是多学科知识与技能的交叉融合。

专业课程涵盖了晶体结构和微观结构分析、材料加工、电化学、扩散和相变、动力学和热力学、高分子性质等内容,旨在培养能够整合与领导材料研发及在半导体制造、生物材料等高科技产业应用的优秀工程师和科技人才。学生将参与和业界合作的研发项目,掌握材料科学与工程的高级研究方法。

与其他高校同类专业相比,本专业的知识结构与内容具有一定先进性,表现为1.深入学习微纳电子相关的高级课程,例如电子材料性能、实验分子电子学、导电原子力显微镜等课程跨越微电子及纳米电子学领域;2.课程内容广泛深入,涵盖了同类本科课程通常未纳入而在研究生阶段教授的知识点。

专业十分注重科研,科研活动涵盖了许多对中国社会至关重要的方面,通过开发关键技术和培养高水平专业工程师以增强国家工业实力。专业目前已在以下领域开展了前沿研究,包括高性能合金、新型电子和储能材料、核材料、功能纳米材料和生物材料等。此外,本专业为材料的加工和表征提供广泛的个人和中心实验室作材料,配备了各种先进设备,由来自五大洲经验丰富的全球资源支持。

2021年获广东省科技厅批准成立的能源转化材料与技术省重点实验室,为加强全球研究和合作提供了一个广阔的平台。本专业教授参与的5年科研项目“极端条件下未来功能材料的基础和应用研究”也入选2021年广东省科技创新战略专项资金(基础研究重大项目)项目计划。


二、培养目标

本专业毕业生将能够掌握先进的材料科学与工程研究方法,参与许多业界合作的研发项目。毕业生可从事学术研究或在相关行业就业。

材料工程师可以在以下行业和发展中心工作:电子和通信;能源生产、转换和储存;航空航天或车辆制造;核电行业;聚合物纳米复合材料及塑料材料;制药和生物材料等。

毕业生将具备以下技能:

·      掌握本专业领域要求的数学与自然科学知识、工程技术知识和一定的经济学、管理学知识。

·      系统掌握材料科学与工程学科的基本理论和知识;了解材料的组成、结构、合成/生产和性能之间关系的基本原理。

·      掌握本学科涉及的各种材料的制备、性能测试和分析的基本知识和技能。

·      了解材料学科相关领域的发展现状和趋势;具备提高材料性能和产品质量的基本能力,能够开发和研究新材料、新工艺,能够根据工程项目选择和使用材料等。

·      培养创新与创业能力。

·      具备终身学习的意识;能够利用现代信息技术获取相关信息、新技术、新知识,不断提高个人能力。

·      具有国际视野与较高的外语水平、跨文化交流能力和合作能力。


三、培养规格

遵循以色列理工学院对应的专业设置,本专业学生在四年的学习中需要完成160个学分的课程,其中包括专业必修课(131学分)、专业选修课(19学分)与通识选修课(10学分)。学生必须修读16个学分的中国教育部要求的思想政治理论课与其他相关课程教育。专业教学包括理论知识与实践教学环节。除了思政课与体育课,全部课程必须采用英语授课。

满足学位学分要求的学生将获颁以色列理工学院与广东以色列理工学院学位证书。


四、课程体系

具体课程安排详见本科生课程设置


五、师资队伍

本专业根据办学定位与人才培养目标,结合学科建设需要,面向全球引进在创新、科研与教学方面拥有优秀背景经历的高层次人才与年轻科学家,打造具有国际竞争力的师资团队。

教师队伍国际化特色明显,除了部分由以色列理工学院派遣的教师外,还有来自美国、德国、澳大利亚、西班牙、英国、加拿大、印度等国家的教师与研究人员。多数教师及科研人员均曾在国际一流的研究机构、高校或世界五百强企业研发部门任职,例如劳伦斯利物浦国际实验室、西北大学及联合利华公司等。队伍中有 “青年千人计划”人才、广东“扬帆计划”学者、高水平外国学者等高层次人才。更多详情可访问教学科研团队


六、教学条件

本专业建设有配备了世界一流的导电原子力显微镜、电子显微镜等国际级实验设备的教学实验室。专业持续不断投入高水平的教学科研设备,帮助学生尽早参与科研项目,获得真正的科研经验。本专业学生除了必须完成特定的专业教学实验,还须在毕业前在教师的指导下完成高级研究项目,项目选题涉及导师的研究课题和行业经历,以保障项目研究满足社会和产业发展的需要。


以色列理工学院研究生院

广东以色列理工学院研究生教育


CONTACT US
联系我们

本科招生: 86-0754-88077088、88077060

地址:广东省汕头市大学路241号

邮编 :515063

© 广东以色列理工学院 版权所有 | 粤ICP备17036470号